Subpage Banner Fallback
Subpage Banner Fallback

The Care Package- December’s Book Options

A year in the Chateau by Sarah Long

A funny and feel-good novel about escaping the rat race, friendship and new beginnings.

When Nicola’s husband, Dominic, retires they decide not to spend their days finding hobbies to fill the time until Countdown is on. Instead, they fulfil their life-long fantasy of buying a country house and filling it with their dearest friends.

Reliving their youth and spending their children’s inheritance.

Joined by seven of their friends they club together to invest in a château in Normandy. Group dinners, fine wine, beautiful scenery – they’re living the dream!

But la vie en rose is harder than it first appears. Is there a reason why only teenagers take gap years?

‘A humorous and insightful novel about what it’s like to throw caution to the wind’ Woman’s Weekly

Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce

A dark psychological thriller that explores the power of desire, jealousy and betrayal.

Alison really does have it all…a loving family and a career on the rise – she’s just been given her first murder case to defend.

But all is never as it seems.

‘An impressive debut. Dark and immensely readable’ – The Times.

‘Complex and menacing’ – Observer.

‘Fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Girl on The Train will love this’ Guardian

The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christine Lefteri

A thought-provoking and provocative read- a Number one international best seller

Nuri is a beekeeper, his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo – until the unthinkable happens.

When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape.As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls.

Above all – and perhaps this is the hardest thing they face – they must journey to find each other again.

Moving, powerful, compassionate and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a testament to the triumph of the human spirit.

Told with deceptive simplicity, it is the kind of book that reminds us of the power of storytelling.
‘It’s impossible not to be moved’ Observer

Footer backup image